Imitation Spring

I am back from a few days of pondering..A couple of days ago it was in the upper 40’s.  Today it is in the 20’s with winds that have gusts up to 50 mph.  Neither my alpacas, cats, dog nor myself can get used to this.  Here in the hills outside of Mayville New York we are used to winter and I mean winter.  Snows here can total 260 inches without a blink.  Snow mobiles, ice fishing, skiing, snow shoeing and of course snowpeople.  The record accumulated snow fall here is 296″, we are at 90″.  No snow/winter sports this year.  Just a little tease now and again like today.  The other day I trimmed by black raspberry bushes.  A little jump on spring.  I also started to build some row covers or tents for my garden.  I am thinking that the spinach will get an early start and maybe some lettuce.  Can’t wait for spring to really arrive.

Leave a Reply

